Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I think it’s my biggest fear.  That Jana will attend school one day and the kids will not accept her.  All we hear about are school bully’s and how horrible kids with disabilities are treated.  I remember being in school and honestly hardly ever interacting with any of the “special ed” kids.

This story brings a smile to my face!!  When a young boy, Brady, was told he could no longer attend the school he had grown up in, his classmates rallied round and fought to keep him there.  Why was he being moved?  Because the school didn’t feel that they were fit to give Brady the schooling he needs.  Unfortunately, this happens quite often.  Children with special needs cost the school more money than typical children do.  So a majority of students are sent to schools that focus on specialized care.

Thankfully Brady was given the OK to attend school with his longtime friends for another year.  This might be something his mother has to continue to fight for.  But it seems to me, Brady’s friendships are worth the fight!

Check out the full article here:  Friends fight school for boy with Down syndrome

“He’s one of the kindest kids in our grade,” proclaimed Owen Armstrong, 10. “Every day, I wake up and I’m looking forward to school because Brady goes there.” “He’s taught me so many things through the time that I’ve known him. … He lights up the room whenever he’s around. He helps people when they’re down,” said Ella Blakeley, 11. “He makes people laugh.”

 

