Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

IMG_4045Today while Jana was finishing up her physical therapy, a young mom walked in with her little boy.  At first I couldn’t see him.  She had him in the car seat, but it was very clear to see the oxygen tank that followed him.  She sat down near me and pulled out this sweet, adorable, happy baby boy.  I asked how old he was and she said 9 months.  She asked me a little about Jana, she thought they were the same age 🙂  Little Eli not only had an oxygen tube to help him breath, but his head was obviously “deformed” (I hate using that word!  It was exactly the way God intended him to be!)  She informed me that Eli was born with a genetic disease that basically deteriorated part of his brain.  She was told that Eli would probably not make it to birth, let alone live after it.  She was encouraged to have an abortion at 24 weeks.  She said the night before her scheduled abortion, she cried and felt that it wasn’t her place to take his life.  She would trust God and be prepared to say good-bye to her baby boy at birth.  She told me she didn’t even have anything for him.  She had one outfit, and her priest available to baptize him, because the Doctors insisted he would die instantly.  Well little Eli survived!  9 months old and growing stronger and stronger.  He may never crawl or walk, but he is full of life.  He was very intrigued by his right hand and loved cuddling into his mamas arms.

We talked a little about how people count these kids out.  That they are so much more capable than people give them credit for.  He was her little miracle and she was so proud of the little boy he was.  It didn’t matter what disabilities he had.  She loved him just the way he was!

When I left I couldn’t help but to think of Jana’s birth mom once again.  She had the option to abort her and be done with it.  Instead she gave her life and trusted she would be loved.  I wouldn’t change anything about her and I am so proud of who she is.  I can’t believe how many tiny lives are taken away before they get a chance to prove themselves.  God has a purpose bigger than all of us for this little miracles.  We just need to stop being selfish and ignorant and allow them to be who God created them to be!

