Milestones

So I shared with all of you recently that Jana is now officially moving herself into sit position like a pro (check it out here if you missed it).  It seems like these past two weeks something clicked and she has reached a few more milestones!  It all has happened at perfect timing because honestly, I was starting to get discouraged.  Jana had seemed to be at a stand still for a few months and from what our physical therapist tells me, its completely normal.  But seeing some progress really helps motivate me to keep pushing her.

First thing that happened this past week is that she started finally sucking!  Lol…I’m not sure how else to start that, so let me explain.  I’ve been working with her on using a straw for months now.  Straw drinking is encouraged for DS babies because it uses different muscles in their mouths.  Thus, helping them be able to have better control of their mouths and tongue.  I’ve gone through about 4-5 different cups, even one that is “geared” for DS IMG_4855kids that cost me $15!  None of them worked though.  She just couldn’t get the concept of sucking.  Until one day…she did!  It started with a small disposable kids cup (you know the ones they give you at restaurants) and it was only once very quickly.  So I moved over to trying to get her to eat out of the squeeze pouches.  I’ve heard this is sometimes easy. And we had success!!  She ate it like a pro and this had made meal time so much more easier on both of us!!  Now she is drinking out of any straws and loves that she can do it on her own.  We even purchased this adorable Minnie Mouse straw that is an obvious hit!  Check out her sucking skills here:

Second IMG_4835milestone was at physical therapy.  We’ve always tried to get Jana to do some time on her knees but she would either sit on her feet or lean on everything with her chin and go limp.  She did not see the purpose of messing up her beautiful little knees 🙂  But on Wed at therapy, without any complaining at all, Jana went straight on her knees.  Balancing herself and was even able to move back into sit position!  This was so great to see!  She realized she could use both her hands and be high enough to reach the toys in view.  Her therapist was so proud of her…and so was I 🙂  This will help her prepare her muscles for crawling soon!!

 

Lastly, I wanted to share this with you…this isn’t a milestone at all but still pretty IMG_4849awesome.  Yesterday was Jojo’s 15th birthday.  I was going through baby pictures of him and found this.  Jojo is about 5 months old in this photo and Jana is 14 months.  Instantly looking at Joeys pictures, I saw how much they look alike!  I always felt like she looked like Jaylen.  They have the same skin tone and cute little button noses.  But I never tied her into the boys.  Until now!  It is so amazing to see how much they resemble each other.  Honestly, people never question if she is mine or not.  I feel like she fits in our family almost perfectly.  Now don’t get me wrong, I think an amazing part of adoption is the differences that make a family beautiful.  When different races are brought together with pure love!  But maybe God knew what a tough first month Jana would have and just wanted her to feel like she finally fit.  Maybe we were suppose to just always be her forever family.  Whatever it was, she was perfect for us…and one day when we share her adoption story with her, seeing pictures like this will help her see how much God had a plan for her.

 

Leave a Reply

