Uncomfortable…Part 2

Ok…so first I have to apologize.  When I wrote the blog earlier today I was angry and upset.  It hurt me to see people treating my beautiful girl differently.  After having a long discussion with the big kids and my hubby…I understand the situation more.  I don’t think the library was just full of mean moms today.  I do think Jana made them slightly uncomfortable, but not in the way I took it.  If I look back to before we got Jana, I’m sure there were numerous times I made a mama of a special needs child feel the same as I did today.  Most people are unsure on how to even start up a conversation with a SN mama.  Do they bring up the disability?  Do they try to ignore it?  Ask questions?  Don’t ask questions?  There is always a fear of offending someone.  That’s whats pretty amazing about kids…they will come right out and ask, and then fully accept the answer.  Why do we loose that child like innocence?  I’d love for a mama to ask me questions about DS!  I’d be happy to share all I know and explain what a blessing Peanut has been to us.

Today wasn’t a learning experience for Peanut…it was for me!  I have to gain a tougher skin.  I need to be prepared for Jana to sometimes be the outcast.  I have to be there to smile and brighten her world, when things seem to tear her down.  I need to remember that no everyone is comfortable with difference.

To end your night, I wanted to share this video that was shared on IG.  Its kinda funny…but so true!!

Leave a Reply

